web space | website hosting | Web Hosting | Free Website Submission | shopping cart | php hosting

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl

Curriculum Vitae: Years Function Institution

2004-now Professor emeritus Dept. of Physical Chemistry, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin
1986-2004 Director Dept. of Physical Chemistry, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin
1981-1982 Visiting Professor Dept. of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
1979 Visiting Professor Dept. of Physics, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
1976-1977 Visiting Professor Dept. of Chemical Engineering, California Inst. of Technology, Pasadena
1973-1986 Professor & Director Inst. for Physical Chemistry, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich
1968-1973 Professor & Director Inst. for Physical Chemistry, Technical University, Hannover
1965-1968 Assistant & Lecturer Technical University, Munich
1962-1965 Technical University, Munich: Dr. rer. nat in 1965
1959-1961 Technical University, Stuttgart: Dipl. Phys. in 1961
1958-1959 Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich
1957-1958 University of Paris
1955-1957 Technical University, Stuttgart
1936 born October 10, in Stuttgart, Germany

Membership in Organizations: Since Position Organization

2006 Honorary Member Deutsche Bunsengesellschaft für Physikalische Chemie
2002 Foreign Associate National Academy of Sciences
2001 Corresponding Member Austrian Academy of Sciences
1998 Corresponding Member Bavarian Academy of Sciences
1993 Member Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences
1993 Foreign Honorary Member American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1993 Corresponding Member Nordrhein.-Westfal. Academy of Sciences
1992 Member Academia Europaea
1986 Corresponding Member Scientific Society of Braunschweig
1986 Member German Academy of Sciences, "Leopoldina"
1985 Honorary Fellow Royal Society of Edinburgh

Honors and Awards: Year Name Description

2007 Nobel Prize in Chemistry The Nobel Prize Foundation
2007 Gold Medal Slovak Chemical Society
2007 Baker Lectureship Cornell University, Ithaca (NY)
2007 Faraday Lectureship Royal Society of Chemistry
2006 Guptill Lecture Dalhousie University, Halifax
2005 Angström Lecture University of Uppsala
2005 Linus Pauling Lecture California Inst. of Technology
2003 Dr. honoris causa University of Aarhus
2003 Dr. honoris causa Chalmers University of Technology, Goeteborg
2003 Dr. honoris causa University of Leuven
2002 FMC Lectureship Princeton University
2002 Karl Ziegler Visiting Professor Max Planck Institute Mulheim
2002 Spiers Memorial Medal and Lectureship Royal Society of Chemistry
2001 G.F. Smith Lecture University of Illinois, Urbana
2001 Kelly Lecture Purdue University
2001 Schuit Lecture Technical University of Eindhoven
2001 Pitzer Lecture University of California, Berkeley
2000 Dr. honoris causa University of Münster
1999 Roessler Lectureship Cornell University
1999 Le Bel Lecture Université de Strasbourg
1999 Debye Lecture Universiteit Utrecht
1998 Wolf Prize in Chemistry Wolf Foundation
1998 Karl Ziegler Prize German Chemical Society
1998 Francois Gault Lectureship European Catalysis Society
1998 M. Curie Lectureship Polish Chemical Society
1997 Laird Lecture University of British Columbia
1997 A.D. Little Lectureship Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1996 Honorary Professor Humboldt University Berlin
1996 Carl Engler Medal German Scientific Society for Coal and Petroleum Research (DGMK)
1996 Merck Lecture Rutgers University
1996 Brdicka Lecture Czech Academy of Sciences
1995 Medard W. Welch Award American Vacuum Society
1995 Stauffer Lecture University of Southern California
1994 Rolf Sammet Visiting Professor University of Frankfurt
1992 Hewlett-Packard Europhysics Prize European Physical Society
1992 Japan Prize Science and Technology Foundation of Japan
1992 Bunsen Medal German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry
1992 Dr. Honoris Causa Ruhr-University of Bochum
1992 Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz President of the Federal Republic of Germany
1992 Kolthoff Lectureship University of Minnesota
1992 Kaufman Memorial Lecture University of Pittsburgh
1991 Leibniz Prize German Science Foundation
1991 Bourke Medal and Lectureship Royal Society of Chemistry
1990 Alwin Mittasch Medal German Federation of Chemical Engineers (DECHEMA)
1990 Dow Lectureship University of Western Ontario
1990 Coover Lecture Iowa State University
1989 Frontiers in Chemical Research Lectureship Texas A&M University
1988 William Draper Harkins Lecture University of Chicago
1988 Barre Lecture University of Montreal
1987 Liebig Medal German Chemical Society
1986 Honorary Professor Free University of Berlin
1986 Honorary Professor Technical University of Berlin
1986 Langmuir Lecture American Chemical Society
1985 C.F. Gauss Medal Scientific Society of Braunschweig
1985 Centenary Medal and Lectureship Royal Society of Chemistry
1985 C.G.A. Schuit Lecture University of Delaware
1984 FECS Lecture Federation of European Chemical Societies
1984 Industry Lecture Norwegian Chemical Society
1979 Paul H. Emmett Award in Fundamental Catalysis American Catalysis Society
1979 E.W. Müller Award University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
1977 Frank Ciapetta National Lectureship American Catalysis Society
1976 Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Scholar California Institute of Technology